Tech

WhatsApp adds Snapchat-inspired “View Once” to enhance privacy: how it works

If you do not open the photo or video within 14 days of being submitted, the media will expire from WhatsApp chat.

View Once seems to be expanded with a time difference. This means that currently only a limited number of users are getting updates. Android users are getting updates.

  • News18.com
  • Last updated:August 4, 2021 11:45 IST
  • To follow:

About two months after confirming development, WhatsApp began rolling out a new feature called “View Once.” As the name of the tool suggests, this option allows users to send videos and photos that can be viewed only once. The Facebook-owned company has announced development across social media channels. This tool is said to give you “more control” on your chat privacy. The ViewOnce feature seems to be inspired by Snapchat, which has been offering this option for many years. In particular, View Once is also available on Instagram DM (Direct Message), another popular social media service owned by Facebook.

Apparently See once Is being rolled out in stages. This means that currently only a limited number of users are getting updates.Widespread deployment is planned in the next few days and users need to make sure they are using the latest version WhatsApp.. According to a user reply on Twitter, this feature wasn’t available on iOS and couldn’t be found on the iPhone. WhatsApp also shares a small clip showing how ViewOnce works. To use this feature, open a chat, select the photo or video you want to send, click the circle with a “1” in the text bar, and then send. The file disappears as soon as the receiver opens the image or video.

WhatsApp on the FAQ page states that when a user submits a photo or video using View Once, the sender is notified when the recipient opens the file. In particular, the sender can still see the “read” prompt even if the recipient has disabled read confirmation. However, unlike Snapchat, which notifies the user, the sender does not receive the notification if the recipient takes a screenshot or uses screen recording.the user[1回表示]Even if you use to send a photo to a user who has disabled the option, this feature still works and the file can only be viewed once. In addition, if you do not open the photo or video within 14 days of being sent, the media will expire from the chat. WhatsApp last November Similar introduction A message display function that automatically deletes media files from both individual and group chats, but does not delete them immediately. The media file was deleted after a week.

Read all the latest news, Breaking news When Coronavirus news here



WhatsApp adds Snapchat-inspired “View Once” to enhance privacy: how it works

Source link WhatsApp adds Snapchat-inspired “View Once” to enhance privacy: how it works

Related Articles

Back to top button