What Are The Different Levels Of Sex Offenses In Ohio?

The case in New Jersey where a 7-year-old girl was killed and raped by a criminal in 1994 was the reason why Ohio required sex offenders to register every time, depending on their tier, after their conviction. As it’s known, Megan’s Law mandates that governments collect and share information about convicted sex offenders.

To register and track sex offenders, Ohio established the Electronic Sex Offender Registration and Notification System. Ohio changed its sex offender registration system in 2008 to incorporate the Adam Walsh Act’s new classification rules. A sex offense lawyer can provide more details and explain how it works so you’ll be knowledgeable in court.

Ohio can register and categorize sex offenders based on the severity of the sex crime they were convicted of using this system of sex offense tiers. For sex offender classification, Ohio has a “Three Tier” system. If a person is convicted of a sex crime in Ohio and is required to register as a sex offender, they are placed in one of three Tiers.

The tier level is determined by the offense for which the offender was found guilty or pled guilty. Once a sex offender is assigned to a Tier, they must comply with its registration requirements.

Here are the levels of sex offenses based on their Tier levels:

Sex Offenses in Tier 1


  • Importuning 
  • Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a Minor at an Appropriate Time (unless the act is consensual)
  • Voyeurism against a Minor 
  • Sexual Imposition 
  • Gross Sexual Imposition 
  • Illegal Use of a Minor in Nudity-oriented Material or Performance 
  • Voyeurism 
  • Sexually Motivated Child Enticement

Adult offenders in Tier 1 must register every 12 months for 15 years. However, this time can be cut in half if the registrant does not commit any sex offenses or felonies and successfully completes probation/parole and sex offender treatment.

Sex Offenses in Tier 2


  • Compelling Prostitution 
  • Pandering Obscenity Involving a Minor 
  • Pandering Sexually Oriented Material Involving a Minor 
  • Illegal Use of a Minor in Nudity-oriented Material or Performance 
  • Child Endangering 
  • Kidnapping with Sexual Motivation
  • Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a Minor  

For the next 25 years, Tier 2 offenders must register every 180 days (six months). For juveniles in this tier, mandatory registration is not required. Tier 2 individuals are exempt from community notification obligations.

Tier 3 Sex Offenses


  • Rape 
  • Sexual Battery 
  • Aggravated Murder with Sexual Motivation 
  • Murder with Sexual Motivation 
  • Unlawful Death or Termination of Pregnancy As A Result of Committing or Attempting to Commit a Felony with Sexual Motivation 
  • The kidnapping of Minor to Engage in Sexual Activity 
  • The abduction of Minor, Not By a Parent 
  • Gross Sexual Imposition with a Child Under 13 
  • Felonious Assault with Sexual Motivation 
  • Any Sexual Offense that occurs after the offender has been classified as a Tier II sex offender.

Tier 3 offenders must register at least once every 90 days for the remainder of their lives. When an offender relocates to a new neighborhood or community, that community will be notified of the offender’s whereabouts. The inquiry includes residents living within 1,000 feet of the offender’s official abode.

This tier requires juveniles to register with their local sheriff’s office every three months for the rest of their lives. However, this can be waived after 25 years if the offender does not commit any felony or sex crime offenses, completes probation or parole, and completes sex offender treatment.


Related Articles

Back to top button